Passion for PR

Since my journey began at The University of Texas at San Antonio, I have always known that public relations is the perfect field for me. However, it wasn’t until I attended a Personal Branding seminar given by Bob “Pritch” Pritchard, APR, on March 19 that I was able to find my calling…Public Affairs!

This was a day filled with learning not only about branding, but also on who I am. I learned that branding is NOT a name, a logo, a slogan or a PR campaign. Branding is a PROMISE! If you make good on this promise, then you are sure to have loyal stakeholders. Why is it important to define your brand you might ask? If YOU do not define your brand, it will be defined for you!

At the daylong seminar, I learned steps to creating my “Micro-Swoosh,” which is “the powerful, clear, positive idea that comes to mind whenever other people think of you.” Your Micro-Swoosh stems from your values, passions and strengths.

Not only did I have a chance to learn about personal branding, but I also had the privilege to shadow PR pro Gretchen Roufs, who put together this beneficial and inspirational seminar.

From Gretchen, I learned tips on coordinating an event and the benefits of having contingency plans. Every moment that she had, she was sharing her knowledge with me.

I must say that students and professionals who did not attend this seminar missed out on some profound knowledge. Thank you so much to Pritch and Gretchen for guiding me down the right path. I know through the knowledge they shared with me, I have a successful future ahead! I also know that everyone at the seminar discovered or rediscovered their “Passion for PR” or in the Twitter world, Pritch says #PassionForPR.

-Michelle Jaramillo
Leave a Reply

